Swadesh Darshan Scheme Yojana

Swadesh Darshan Scheme Yojana

The Modi Government had launched a tourist based scheme in 2015 to attract more tourists in the country. Swadesh Darshan Scheme is based on the some of the tourist circuits that will be covered under the PRASAD and Swadesh Darshan. PRASAD was launched at the same time that stands for Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive. This will lead to the central government to develop the heritage cities of the country in a better way to gain more visitors. Under the SDS there will be few tourist circuits that will be covered by the tourists.

Swadesh Darshan Scheme Yojana

Swadesh Darshan Scheme Objectives

  • The scheme was introduced by the cabinet ministry and ministry of tourism of India to develop the theme based tourism in the country.
  • The tourists or visitors will get an opportunity to visit the specific tourist circuit in a single tour. The tourists can take the pleasure of thematic tourism under this scheme.
  • As the scheme promotes Indian tourism and development of various pilgrimage sites, the scheme also encourages the local inhabitants to be aware of the issue of maintenance of the city. The local amenities like roads, water, food and other things should be maintained properly to attract more tourists.
  • The scheme promotes the Indian tourism and also aims to attract global visitors by developing the tourists’ spots and circuits. So that people can be motivated to travel from one spot to another in a single tour.
  • It accelerates the employment generation in the nation on local basis. People who are engaged in city development will join hands with the local workers to make thing easier for the visitors.

Swadesh Darshan Scheme Key Features

  • The scheme was completely funded by the central government of India. There are 13 cities that are under consideration of development. These 13 cities are all pilgrimage sites.
  • There are 13 tourist circuits that are proposed and started under the scheme. Under these 13 circuits there are many cities and sites are added for the visitors to get down there and enjoy their holiday.
  • The scheme is a joint venture by the central government and ministry of tourism. By launching the scheme both the ministry will be able to develop the heritage cities of the nation and conserve them for the tourists from across the globe.

Tourist Circuit and Swadesh Darshan Scheme

By tourist circuit it means that a bunch of connected places that can be visited in a single tour. It is more like a Golden Triangle in India. Like under Golden Triangle (North) three major places namely Delhi, Agra and Jaipur are covered, under a specific tourists’ circuit in this scheme there will be few renowned spots will be covered that a visitor can visit in a single tour. There are 13 tourists’ circuits that have been identified under this scheme. The circuits are called:

  1. Buddhist Circuit
  2. Coastal Circuit
  3. Krishna Circuit
  4. Ramayana Circuit
  5. Desert Circuit
  6. Spiritual Circuit
  7. North-East Circuit
  8. Himalayan Circuit
  9. Heritage Circuit
  10. Tribal Circuit
  11. Rural Circuit
  12. Eco Circuit
  13. Wildlife Circuit

Government’s Role in Swadesh Darshan Scheme

Government plays the largest role in this scheme. Since the scheme was launched by the central government and ministry of tourism in India jointly the entire funding and development process will be done by the government only.

It has been declared that the government has allocated Rs. 100 Cr and Rs. 600 Cr respectively for the implementation and development of the pilgrimage cities and sites. The funds will be released and the development process will be undertaken by the public undertaking sectors and some by the corporate sectors.

Scheme Swadesh Darshan Scheme and PRASAD
Launched on 2014-15
Launched by Central Governmnet and Ministry of Tourism (India)
No. of cities covered under the scheme 13
No. of tourists’ circuits 13
Total allocated budget Rs. 600 Cr.

Update –


The Swadesh Darshan Scheme was announced by the Central Tourism Ministry sometime back. On the occasion of 72nd Independence Day, the governor of Manipur, Najma Heptulla will inaugurate the first project under the Swadesh Darshan Scheme. Under this project, the authority will start work on the ‘North East Circuit’ that will connect Khongjom with Imphal. This is the first of 70 different projects, which were sanctioned by the central government.


Swadesh Darshan Yojana in Kerala – For the development of the tourism department in the state of Kerala, the Union Ministry of Tourism has decided to give rupees 85.23 crores as financial help. This will also help to improve spiritual tourism in the state pertaining to Swadesh Darshan Scheme. Moreover, growth in the tourism department will assist to improve 133 places worship throughout the state. From the 14 districts, the central government has chosen monuments from different faiths. The tourist destinations are selected depending on their cultural, historic and religious importance. This tourism scheme is included in the 6th project sanctioned in the state relating to the above-said scheme.

In relation to Kerala’s Swadesh Darshan Scheme, the state government will be concerned about creating public spaces like annadana mandapam, multipurpose hall, community hall, cafeteria, toilets, parking space, pathways, landscaping and ultimately help to improve the tourist destinations. As of now, the central government has given rupees 550 crores for Kerala state in relation Swadesh Darshan and Prasad projects. There are a total of 6 projects in relation to Swadesh Darshan Scheme. In addition to this, there is 1 project pertaining to Prasad Scheme and a total of rupees 175 crores has been approved by the state government.

Other Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *